Annual Meeting of WMA in Oberwiesenthal 2010

Annual Meeting of WMA in Oberwiesenthal, Germany, on September 25, 2010

The members of THE WORLD MASTERS CROSS-COUNTRY SKI ASSOCIATION had recently their Annual Meeting in Oberwiesenthal, Germany. One important point of the agenda was to see the site of the Masters World Cup 2012. During the stay in Oberwiesenthal the tracks, the stadium Sparkassenarena on the Fichtelberg and all other facilities including the different accommodation possibilities have been inspected. The dates for the Masters World Cup, which will be organized first time in Germany again after the 1994 competitions in Finsterau, between March 1-9, 2012.


Via video conference the President of the Organizing Committee from Sovereign Lake was connected to give final information about the next Masters World Cup, which will take place in Sovereign Lake, Canada, in the province British Columbia between March 3 and 13, 2011.

All details, such as registration, accommodation, competition program can be obtained from the organizer’s homepage under respectively from homepage of WMA.

In the meantime first snow of the season has arrived in Sovereign Lake, which usually will stay. Snow is guaranteed between November and May and, therefore, it is not necessary to produce artificial snow.

A further point on the agenda was the election of the WMA Presidency for further 4 years.

All persons involved became confirmed in their functions: Thomas Heckmann (GER) President, Klaus Pleyer (SUI) Vice President, Maia Tchernenkaia (RUS) Vice President, Elisabeth Heckmann (SUI) Treasurer/Secretary. As additional Vice President Rolf Hammar (SWE) became elected.


During the meeting also the venues for the Masters World Cups in the years 2013 and 2014 became awarded. MWC 2013 will take place in Asiago, Italy, from February 14-22 and MWC 2014 in Pillerseetal, Austria, between January 16-21.

It has also been decided about the host countries of MWCs as of the year 2015:

2015 Russia, 2016 Finland, 2017 Central Europe, 2018 USA, 2019 Sweden, 2020 Central Europe, 2021 Norway, 2022 Canada, 2023 Central Europe.




Back to Top